Terms and conditions of use of the GouvCheck mobile application

These terms and conditions (hereinafter 'Ts&Cs') set out the rules for use of the GouvCheck mobile application ('app').

The GouvCheck app is operated by the Luxembourg Government (hereinafter 'the Government'). It is published by the Government IT Centre (hereinafter 'CTIE'), located at 560, rue de Neudorf, L-2220 Luxembourg.

By installing and/or using GouvCheck on their mobile phone or tablet, users are deemed to have read and unreservedly accepted these Ts&Cs in their entirety. They agree to abide by these terms.

Article 1: DEFINITIONS

The term 'user' refers to any natural person, be they an adult or a minor (having obtained permission from their parents or person vested with parental authority), and any Luxembourg or foreign legal entity, who downloads the GouvCheck application to a mobile phone or tablet.

The term 'application' (or 'app') refers to the software application GouvCheck, which can be downloaded from the Apple App Store and Google Play Store platforms for installation on compatible mobile phones and tablets.

The term 'QR Code®' refers to a 2D barcode designed to store data. QR Codes® can be decrypted by appropriate QR reader software installed on a mobile phone or tablet with a camera.

Article 2: PURPOSE OF THE APPLICATION

The free app allows users to scan the QR Code® on the official document in order to:

  • check the QR Code®'s integrity and authenticity offline: ensuring that it was actually issued by an official body. Please note that the user commits to comparing the information on the official document issued in Luxembourg with that displayed in the application following successful verification of the QR Code®;
  • add administrative data when the administration issuing the QR Code® has encoded an online verification of the administrative validity of the QR Code® data.

The aim of the application is to prevent document fraud, subject to a minimum verification of the concordance of the data displayed after the verification of the QR Code® with that of the document.

The Government may, at any time and without notice to the user, alter or update the purpose of the app.

Article 3: HARDWARE NEEDED TO USE THE APPLICATION

To access and use the app, the user must have:

  • a compatible multimedia device:
    • either a mobile phone with a camera and running the operating system iOS 7.0 or Android® 4.3 or later;
    • or a tablet with a camera running the operating system iOS 7.0 or Android® 4.03 or later;
  • a customer account on Apple App Store or Google Play Store platforms.

Article 4: AVAILABILITY OF THE APPLICATION

The Government shall employ every effort to ensure security in accessing, viewing and using the app's content and services.

In principle, it should be available 24/7, except for reasons of force majeure or the occurrence of an event beyond the Government's control, and during operations:

  • to carry out technical maintenance;
  • to implement updates;
  • to make technical improvements or change the content and/or presentation;
  • for any other reason deemed necessary.

Such operations may be carried out at any time, without prior notice to the user.

In the event that the app is unavailable or does not work properly, users are not entitled to any indemnification.

Article 5: FINANCIAL CONDITIONS

The app can be downloaded for free from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

The user alone is responsible for the equipment and hardware necessary to access and use the app. Similarly, the user is responsible for any telecommunication costs incurred to access and use the app.

Article 6: INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY OF THE APPLICATION

The Luxembourg Government is the exclusive owner of all intellectual property rights pertaining to the structure and content of the app, unless expressly stated otherwise.

These Ts&Cs do not entail the transfer of any intellectual property right to the user, with respect either to the structure or the content of the app and its services.

Users expressly undertake to refrain from using the app in such a way that may infringe the rights of the Government and, in particular, refrain from any such use that may constitute counterfeiting or parasitic use of information, or unfair competition.

None of the texts, graphics, icons, photographs, illustrations and, more generally, none of the elements making up the GouvCheck app, may be represented, reproduced, exploited or extracted, either in part or in full, on any medium whatsoever, without the Ministry for Digitalisation's express, written authorisation.

Article 7: USAGE LICENCE

The Government grants users a free licence to use the application, limited strictly to personal use. Users must therefore refrain from using the app for business purposes.

The term 'business purposes' includes, in particular:

  • any profit or commercial income resulting from the marketing of the app or any competitive use;
  • using the app with a commercial company and/or a third party if such a use leads to the marketing of the app.

The licence is non-exclusive, non-sublicensable, non-transferable, and may be revoked at any time.

Article 8: LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

The Government cannot fully guarantee the accuracy or completeness of all information contained in the app, whether provided by the Government itself or by any other person or organisation.

Users agree to compare the information displayed on the official document issued in Luxembourg against that contained in the QR Code®. The Government can only guarantee the accuracy and completeness of the information contained in the QR Code® and not that such information will be consistent with the information in the document.

Similarly, the Government may not be held liable if access to the app is interrupted due to maintenance operations, updates or technical improvements, or for the purpose of making changes to the content and/or presentation.

In addition, the Government may temporarily or permanently suspend access to the app and to any connected services, without indemnification.

The Government accepts no liability for any direct or indirect damage occurring in connection with changes or modifications made to the app.

The Government is not responsible for the content of any websites to which hyperlinks in the app may direct the user.

The user alone is responsible for updating to the latest version of the app. The Government assumes no responsibility in this regard.

The Government may not be held liable if, for any reason, the app becomes inaccessible.

The Government may not be held liable if, for any reason, internet connectivity is interrupted.

The Government may not be held liable for any omissions and/or errors the app may contain.

The Government may not be held liable for:

  • damage of any sort, whether direct or indirect, resulting from the use of or inability to use the app, and notably any operating, financial or commercial loss, or loss of programs and/or data in the app user's information system;
  • damage of any sort, whether direct or indirect, resulting from the content and/or use, or inability to use, websites linked to the app or which the user would usually be able to access through the app.

The Government accepts no liability whatsoever for any misuse of the mobile phone or tablet, or for any incident relating to the use of those devices when running the app. Under no circumstances may the Government be held liable for any damage whatsoever, caused to the user, their terminal, their computing or phone equipment and data stored thereon, or for the consequences of such damage for their personal, professional or commercial activities.

The user declares that they are fully aware of and accept the risks, limitations and problems of the mobile internet network and the app's operating system, for which the Government may not be held liable, and in particular, acknowledges that:

  • they use the app at their own risk;
  • the app is provided 'as is', subject to availability;
  • they are responsible for protecting their own data stored on their mobile phone or tablet and/or in their software, and for taking all appropriate measures to protect them from damage (malfunction, viruses, hacking, etc.);
  • given the technical performances of mobile internet, processing time is required to respond to, view, request or transfer the information.

Users undertake not to use the app for fraudulent purposes.

Users acknowledge that they, and they alone, are responsible for any breach of their obligations under these Ts&Cs, and for the consequences of such a breach.

Article 9: PROTECTION OF DATA COMMUNICATED BY THE USER

The verification of the integrity and authenticity of a QR Code® by the GouvCheck application is carried out offline by default. It does therefore not result in any collection of the user's personal data by the Government and/or the CTIE. If the QR Code® issued by the administration is encoded with (1) an online verification of the administrative validity of the data in the QR Code® and (2) if necessary, an addition of other administrative data to be displayed in the application, the QR Code® is collected in accordance with the following procedures: The administration issuing the QR Code® is the sole responsible for this processing; the CTIE is its sole subcontractor in charge of hosting the IT platform which (1) verifies the integrity and authenticity of the QR Code® upon receipt, (2) securely transfers part of the QR Code® to the IT platform of the issuing administration, and finally (3) sends the administration's response containing the result of the verification of the administrative validity of the QR Code® and, where applicable, other administrative data back to the GouvCheck application. The period for which QR Code® data is stored on the Government's IT platforms is linked to the period corresponding to the administrative processing of the document containing the QR Code®. This storage period is the responsibility of the administration issuing the QR Code®. The QR Code® is not stored by the CTIE.

The GouvCheck application regularly connects to an IT platform of the CTIE in order to update the trust certificates used for the offline verification of the integrity and authenticity of the QR Code®, and to update other technical configuration information.

When communicating with the Government's IT platforms, technical connection information such as the so-called "IP" address is stored for the sole purpose of resolving security incidents. This information is not in relation with the processing of personal data.

The user has the right to access, rectify or erase data concerning them and related to the processing carried out. They may exercise these rights by applying to the relevant data controller. It should be noted that the legal bases relating to administrative processing in connection with the document containing the QR Code might contain specific provisions governing the exercise of the user's rights.

The Apple App Store and Google Play Store platforms are likely to process the personal data disclosed directly or indirectly by the user when downloading the app.

Apple and Google are the data controllers for the user's personal data.

The CTIE is not the data controller for the user's personal data.

Apple and Google are both subject to Regulation (EU) 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 27 April 2016 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data and on the free movement of such data and the law of 1 August 2018 setting up the National Commission for Data Protection and implementing the aforementioned Regulation (EU) 2016/679.

Hence, it is the user's responsibility to contact Google or Apple to exercise their rights to access, rectify or delete the data concerning them, and their rights to limit its processing, object to processing, withdraw their consent and the right to data portability.

Article 10: CHANGES TO THE GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

The Government reserves the right to modify or supplement any or all of these Ts&Cs at any time, and without prior notice to the user, so that they reflect changes to services, or technical or legal changes, or any new services that may be introduced.

Thus, the Government advises all users to apprise themselves of the Ts&Cs governing the use of the app. Only the latest version of these Ts&Cs accessible online is deemed to be in force at the time of use of the app by the user.

The Government will notify users of any modifications to the Ts&Cs simply by publishing them online.

Article 11: APPLICABLE LAW AND ATTRIBUTION OF JURISDICTION

These Ts&Cs are subject to Luxembourg law.

Any dispute or disagreement arising in connection with the app or interpretation of these Ts&Cs, and which has not been amicably settled, shall be subject to the jurisdiction of the Luxembourg courts.

Last update

Conditions générales d’utilisation de l’application mobile GouvCheck

Les présentes Conditions Générales d’Utilisation (ci-après "CGU") ont pour objet de déterminer les règles d’utilisation de l’application mobile GouvCheck.

L’application GouvCheck est mise en œuvre par l’État du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg (ci-après dénommé "État"). Sa publication est assurée par le Centre des technologies de l’information de l’État du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg (ci-après dénommé "CTIE") (560, rue de Neudorf, L-2220 Luxembourg).

En installant et/ou en utilisant l’application GouvCheck sur son téléphone mobile ou sur sa tablette, l’utilisateur est réputé avoir pris connaissance et accepté sans réserve l'intégralité des termes et mentions des présentes CGU. Il s’engage à les respecter.

Article 1 : DÉFINITIONS

Le terme "utilisateur" désigne une personne physique majeure ou mineure (ayant préalablement obtenu l’autorisation de ses parents ou de la personne investie de l’autorité parentale) ainsi que toute personne morale luxembourgeoise ou étrangère qui télécharge l’application GouvCheck sur un téléphone mobile ou sur une tablette.

Le terme "application" désigne le programme GouvCheck qui est téléchargeable sur les plateformes "Apple App Store" et "Google Play Store" pour être installé sur des téléphones mobiles compatibles ou des tablettes compatibles.

Le terme "QR Code®" désigne un code-barres en 2D qui permet de stocker des informations. Il est déchiffré par un logiciel de lecture approprié à partir d’un téléphone mobile ou d’une tablette équipée d’un appareil photo.

Article 2 : OBJET DE L’APPLICATION

L’application gratuite permet à l’utilisateur de scanner le QR Code® qui figure sur le document officiel afin de :

  • vérifier hors ligne l’intégrité et l’authenticité d’un QR Code® : si ce dernier a effectivement été émis par une instance officielle. Attention, l’utilisateur s’engage à comparer les informations figurant sur le document officiel émis au Luxembourg avec celles affichées dans l’application suite à une vérification réussie du QR Code® ;
  • adjoindre des données administratives lorsque l’administration émettrice du QR Code® a encodé une vérification en ligne de la validité administrative des données du QR Code®.

L’application a pour but d’éviter la fraude documentaire sous réserve à minima d’une vérification de la concordance des données affichées suite à la vérification du QR Code® avec celle du document.

L’objet de l’application peut, à tout moment et sans avis préalable de l’utilisateur, être modifié ou mis à jour, sans préavis, par l’État.

Article 3 : MATÉRIEL NÉCESSAIRE POUR L’UTILISATION DE L’APPLICATION

Pour accéder à l’application et l’utiliser, l’utilisateur doit posséder :

  • un outil multimédia compatible :
    • soit un téléphone mobile disposant d’un appareil photo et du système d’exploitation iOS 7.0 ou Android® 4.3 ou toutes versions ultérieures ;
    • soit une tablette disposant d’un appareil photo et du système d’exploitation iOS 7.0 ou Android® 4.03 ou toutes versions ultérieures ;
  • un compte client sur l’une des plateformes "Apple App Store" ou "Google Play Store".

Article 4 : DISPONIBILITÉ DE L’APPLICATION

L’État assurera au mieux la sécurité d'accès, de consultation et d'utilisation des informations et services de l’application.

Cette dernière est en principe accessible 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, sauf en cas de force majeure ou de survenance d'un évènement hors du contrôle de l’État et sous réserve des interventions du fait :

  • d’opération de maintenance ;
  • de mises à jour ;
  • d’améliorations techniques ou pour en faire évoluer le contenu et/ou la présentation ;
  • de tout autre motif jugé nécessaire.

Ces interventions pourront être effectuées, à tout moment, sans que l’utilisateur n’en ait été préalablement averti.

L’indisponibilité ou le mauvais fonctionnement de l’application ne donne droit à l’utilisateur à aucune indemnité.

Article 5 : CONDITIONS FINANCIÈRES

L’application est téléchargeable gratuitement depuis les plateformes "Apple App Store" et "Google Play Store".

Les équipements et moyens matériels permettant l’accès et l’utilisation de l’application sont à la charge exclusive de l’utilisateur. Ce dernier prend également à sa charge propre les frais de télécommunications induits pour accéder et pour utiliser l’application.

Article 6 : PROPRIÉTÉ INTELLECTUELLE DE L’APPLICATION

L’État est propriétaire exclusif de tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle portant tant sur la structure que sur le contenu de l’application, sauf mention expresse contraire.

Les présentes CGU n’entraînent le transfert d’aucun droit de propriété intellectuelle au profit de l’utilisateur tant sur la structure que sur le contenu de l’application et de ses services.

L’utilisateur s’engage expressément à ce que l’utilisation de l’application ne porte en aucun cas atteinte aux droits de l’État et notamment, à ce que cette utilisation ne constitue pas une contrefaçon ou une concurrence déloyale ou parasitaire des informations.

L’ensemble des textes, graphismes, icônes, photographies, illustrations et plus généralement, l’ensemble des éléments composant l’application ne peuvent faire l’objet d’une quelconque représentation, reproduction, exploitation ou extraction, intégrale ou partielle, sur quelque support que ce soit, sans l’autorisation expresse et écrite du ministère de la Digitalisation.

Article 7 : LICENCE D’UTILISATION

L’État concède à l’utilisateur une licence d’utilisation gratuite de l’application qui est réservée à un usage strictement personnel. L’utilisateur s’interdit dès lors d’en faire un usage commercial.

Le terme "usage commercial" inclut notamment :

  • tout profit ou revenu commercial résultant de la commercialisation de l’application ou d’un usage concurrentiel ;
  • toute utilisation de l’application avec une société commerciale et/ou avec un tiers si cette utilisation conduit à une commercialisation de l’application.

Cette licence est non exclusive, révocable à tout moment, non cessible et non transférable.

Article 8 : LIMITATION DE RESPONSABILITÉ

L’État ne peut garantir de façon totale la parfaite exactitude et complétude de l'ensemble des informations de l’application, qu'elles soient fournies par lui-même ou par toute autre personne ou organisme.

L’utilisateur s’engage à comparer les informations figurant sur le document officiel émis au Luxembourg avec celles contenues par le QR Code®. L’État ne peut en effet que garantir les informations du QR Code® et non leur concordance avec celles du document.

La responsabilité de l’État ne saurait, non plus, être engagée en cas d’interruption d’accès à l’application du fait d’opérations de maintenance, de mises à jour ou d’améliorations techniques, ou pour en faire évoluer le contenu et/ou la présentation.

En outre, l’État pourra interrompre temporairement ou définitivement, sans dédommagement quelconque, l’accès à l’application et à tout éventuel service lié.

Aucune responsabilité pour un quelconque dommage direct ou indirect en relation avec des évolutions ou modifications de l’application ne pourra être retenue à l’encontre de l’État.

L’État n’est pas responsable du contenu des éventuels sites Internet vers lesquels renvoient des liens hypertextes présents sur l’application.

L'utilisateur est seul responsable des mises à jour des versions ou sous-versions successives de l’application. L’État ne saurait engager sa responsabilité à ce titre.

L’État ne peut être tenu responsable de l’impossibilité d’accéder à l’application pour quelque raison que ce soit.

L’État ne peut être tenu responsable pour quelle que raison que ce soit, si la connexion internet devait être interrompue.

L’État ne peut être de fait tenu responsable sur les éventuelles omissions et/ou erreurs que pourrait contenir l’application.

La responsabilité de l’État ne saurait être engagée pour :

  • les dommages de toute nature, directs ou indirects, résultant de l’utilisation ou de l’incapacité à utiliser l’application et notamment toute perte d’exploitation, perte financière ou commerciale, perte de programmes et/ou de données en particulier dans le système d’information de l’utilisateur de l’application ;
  • les dommages de toute nature, directs ou indirects, résultant du contenu et/ou de l’utilisation ou de l’incapacité à utiliser des sites Internet liés à l’application ou auxquels l’utilisateur pourrait avoir accès via l’application.

L’État décline toute responsabilité en cas de mauvaise utilisation du téléphone mobile ou de la tablette ainsi qu’en cas d’incident lié à l’utilisation desdits appareils lors de l’utilisation de l’application. L’État ne saurait en aucun cas être tenu responsable de tout dommage, de quelque nature que ce soit, causé à l’utilisateur, à son terminal, à ses équipements informatiques et téléphoniques et aux données qui y sont stockées ni des conséquences pouvant en découler sur son activité personnelle, professionnelle ou commerciale.

L’utilisateur déclare connaître et accepter les risques, limites et les problématiques du réseau Internet mobile et des systèmes d’exploitation de l’application et pour lesquels la responsabilité de l’État ne saurait être engagée, et en particulier reconnaître que :

  • son utilisation de l’application se fait à ses risques et périls ;
  • l’application lui est accessible "en état" et en fonction de sa disponibilité ;
  • la protection de ses propres données stockées sur son téléphone mobile, sa tablette et/ou logiciels lui incombe et il lui appartient de prendre toutes les mesures appropriées de façon à les protéger contre toute atteinte (dysfonctionnement, virus, piratage, etc.) ;
  • les performances techniques de l'Internet mobile requièrent un temps de traitement nécessaire pour répondre, consulter, interroger ou transférer les informations.

L’utilisateur s’engage à ne pas utiliser l’application pour des activités frauduleuses.

L’utilisateur reconnaît être seul responsable de tout manquement à ses obligations édictées dans les présentes CGU, ainsi que de ses conséquences.

Article 9 : PROTECTION DES DONNÉES COMMUNIQUÉES PAR L’UTILISATEUR

La vérification de l’intégrité et l’authenticité d’un QR Code® par l’application GouvCheck est effectuée par défaut hors ligne. Elle ne donne donc lieu à aucune collecte de données à caractère personnel de l’utilisateur de la part de l’État et/ou du CTIE. Dans le cas où l’administration émettrice du QR Code® a encodé au sein de ce dernier (1) une vérification en ligne de la validité administrative des données du QR Code® et (2) le cas échéant une adjonction d’autres données administratives à afficher dans l’application, le QR Code® est collecté suivant les modalités suivantes : L’administration émettrice du QR Code® est le seul responsable de ce traitement ; le CTIE est son unique sous-traitant en charge de l’hébergement de la plateforme informatique effectuant (1) la vérification de l’intégrité et l’authenticité du QR Code® à la réception, (2) le transfert sécurisé d’une partie du QR Code® vers la plateforme informatique de l’administration émettrice, et enfin (3) assurant le renvoi vers l’application GouvCheck de la réponse de l’administration contenant la résultat de la vérification de la validité administrative du QR Code® et le cas échéant d’autres données administratives adjointes. La durée de conservation des données du QR Code® dans les plateformes informatiques de l’État est en lien avec celle correspondant au traitement administratif du document contenant le QR Code®. Cette durée de conservation est du ressort de l’administration émettrice du QR Code®. Le QR Code® n’est nullement conservée par le CTIE.

L’application GouvCheck se connecte régulièrement à une plateforme informatique du CTIE afin de mettre à jour ses certificats de confiance servant à la vérification hors ligne de l’intégrité et l’authenticité des QR Code®, et de mettre à jour d’autres informations de configuration technique.

Lors des communications avec les plateformes informatiques de l’État, des informations techniques de connexion comme l’adresse dite "IP" sont conservées dans le seul but de résoudre des incidents de sécurité. Ces informations ne participent nullement dans le traitement des données à caractère personnel.

L'usager dispose des droits d'accès, de rectification ou d'effacement de données en lien avec le traitement effectué et qui le concernent. Ces droits sont exerçables auprès du responsable du traitement concerné. Il est à noter que les bases légales afférentes aux traitements administratifs en lien avec le document contenant le QR Code peuvent contenir des dispositions spécifiques encadrant l'exercice des droits de l’usager.

Les plateformes "Apple App Store" et "Google Play Store" sont susceptibles de traiter les données à caractère personnel communiquées directement ou indirectement par l’utilisateur dans le cadre du téléchargement de l’application.

Apple et Google sont responsables du traitement des données à caractère personnel de l’utilisateur

Le CTIE n’est pas le responsable du traitement des données à caractère personnel de l’utilisateur.

Tant Apple que Google sont soumis au règlement (UE) 2016/679 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 27 avril 2016 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l'égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation des données et la loi du 1er août 2018 portant organisation de la Commission nationale pour la protection des données et mise en œuvre du susdit règlement (UE) 2016/679.

Il appartient dès lors à l’utilisateur de prendre contact avec Apple ou Google pour exercer ses droits d'accès, de rectification et d'effacement de données qui le concernent ainsi que ses droits de limitation du traitement, d'opposition au traitement, de retrait du consentement et de portabilité.

Article 10 : MODIFICATION DES CONDITIONS GÉNÉRALES D’UTILISATION

L’État se réserve le droit de modifier ou de compléter, à tout moment, tout ou partie, des dispositions des présentes CGU sans préavis, ni information préalable de l’utilisateur et ce, afin de les adapter aux évolutions des services, aux évolutions techniques, légales ou jurisprudentielles ou lors de la mise en place de nouvelles prestations.

L’État invite donc tout utilisateur à s’informer et à consulter les CGU de l’application, dont seule la version actualisée accessible en ligne est réputée en vigueur à la date de l’utilisation de l’application par l’utilisateur.

Les modifications éventuellement apportées par l’État seront portées à la connaissance de l’utilisateur par leur simple mise en ligne.

Article 11 : LOI APPLICABLE ET ATTRIBUTION DE JURIDICTION

Les présentes CGU sont soumises à la loi luxembourgeoise.

Tout litige ou contestation relatif à l’exécution ou à l’interprétation des présentes CGU qui n’aura pu être réglé à l’amiable entre les parties sera soumis aux tribunaux luxembourgeois.

Dernière mise à jour