Digital Advisory Service

Conseil a la Digitalisation


The Ministry for Digitalisation offers its expertise to government bodies wishing to advance their digital transformation. This Digital Advisory Service covers both internal processes and the services offered by the Ministry or administration to other government bodies, citizens or businesses. 


The aim of the Ministry for Digitalisation in creating this advisory service is to meet its commitment to support and assist public administrations in the digital transition of their administrative procedures and internal processes. The advisory service takes into account the individual situation of each government entity and ensures that their digital transition is in line with the State's overall digital transformation approach. Such coherence is a prerequisite for potential synergies between state entities.

What does this advisory service offer?

The service includes an analysis of the digital maturity of a ministry or administration and the development of a personalised roadmap drawn up in consultation with the state entity that has requested it and this in strict confidentiality.


The Ministry for Digitalisation proposes a methodology structured in 3 successive phases.

  • Phase 1: Assessment

At the prior request of a government body, the Ministry assesses its digital maturity qualitatively and quantitatively using a Digital Maturity Assessment (DMA). The related questionnaire has been specially developed by the Ministry and is adapted to the characteristics and objectives of the Luxembourg State.

  • Phase 2: Analysis

During the analysis phase, the Digital Advisory Service, in collaboration with the Government IT Centre (CTIE), identifies the administration's needs to ensure its digital transformation and compares the objectives to be achieved with the situation documented in the DMA.

  • Phase 3: Transition

During phase 3 of the project, a roadmap, drawn up for a period of 2 to 5 years, is proposed to the government entity, then discussed and validated. This personalised roadmap takes account of the objectives and principles set out in the e-governance strategy 2021-2025 and the technological standards applied by the CTIE. These criteria may concern, among other things, the accessibility of websites or the interoperability between the various administrations' back-office systems.

Following this, the advisory service may support ministries and administrations in implementing the roadmap.


DMA phases


The Digital Maturity Assessment

The Digital Maturity Assessment (DMA) indicates the general level of maturity of the government body analysed. The score obtained is between 0 and 10, and is calculated on the basis of the average score for each of the 9 dimensions included in the questionnaire.

DMA dimensions


The 5 levels of maturity

DMA levels


Level 1 - Beginner: the authority has not yet begun to use digital technologies systematically and consistently. Processes are mainly manual and digital resources are limited.

Level 2 - Elementary: the authority is beginning to explore digital technologies and to use them on an ad hoc basis for specific processes. However, there is not yet an overall digital strategy in place.

Level 3 - Intermediate: the authority has an overall digital strategy and uses digital technologies consistently to improve its processes. The technologies are integrated and used effectively to achieve the authority's objectives.

Level 4 - Advanced: the organisation is able to innovate and rapidly adopt new digital technologies to improve its performance. It also has a culture of digital innovation and a solid digital transformation strategy.

Level 5 - Expert: The organisation has achieved excellence in digital transformation and is able to maximise the benefits of digital technologies to improve its performance. It also has a digital transformation strategy that is constantly evolving to meet the needs of its target audience and technological developments.


Fictitious example of an intermediate level

DMA Scoreboard EN

Last update